COVID-19: The Recovery will Happen in Public Space

Nominations for 2018 Great Places Awards are Now Open

Jan 22, 2018
Jan 22, 2018

Along with our partner, the Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA), Project for Public Spaces is excited to announce that submissions are now being accepted for the 20th Annual Great Places Awards.

EDRA is a global interdisciplinary community of research, design, and planning educators, professionals, and students, that explores the links between people and their built and natural environments. Founded in 1969, EDRA’s vibrant network of visionaries continues to anticipate movements in research and design decades before they hit the mainstream.

The Great Places Awards aim to recognize important work that combines expertise in design, research, and practice, and contributes to the creation of dynamic, people-centered places that engage our attention and imagination. The Award is a unique honor among programs for professional and scholarly excellence in environmental design.

There are four categories for this year’s awards:

  1. Place Design: Place design projects of various types and scales that have been completed within the last five years, but have been in existence for a sufficient period of time to enable assessment of how well the design responds to user needs.
  2. Place Research: All types of research about the design and use of people-centered places completed within the past three years.
  3. Place Planning: Any plan generated within the past three years that makes proposals for the future use, management, or design of a place
  4. Book Award: Any book published in the last three years advancing the critical understanding of place or design of exceptional environments can be entered.

We welcome submissions from the full breadth of environmental design and related research fields, including architecture, landscape architecture, planning, urban design, interior design, lighting design, graphic design, place-based public art, environmental psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, and the physical sciences.

Recipients of the 2018 Great Places Awards are selected by an interdisciplinary jury with diverse backgrounds in urban design, research, and practice. The jury evaluates how each project, no matter what the discipline, addresses the human experience of well-designed places.

Awards will be presented at EDRA49 Oklahoma City, which will take place June 6–9, 2018 in Oklahoma City, OK. The winning entries will be on display throughout the conference and publicized throughout the year in various print and electronic publications.

Learn more about the winners of the 2017 Great Places Awards, or download the 2018 Great Places Awards Brochure. Be sure to visit the EDRA website for more information and to submit your nomination for 2018. All submissions must be electronically uploaded to the submission site by 11:59pm ET on February 26, 2018.

Related Articles & Resources
No items found.
COVID-19: The Recovery will Happen in Public Space